Posted in Suboxone

Results (sort of) After Strange Drug Screen

Good morning everyone!  Several weeks ago I wrote a post about issues I had with my usual ‘urine drug screen’ with my suboxone doctor.

Quick recap:  During my usual bimonthly appointment I submitted my normal urine sample for drug screening.  A little while later, the receptionist asked me to repeat the test, which after multiple bottles of water and Mt. Dew I was finally able to submit, my doctor told me that my tests were coming up positive for methadone.  I have never in my life, for legal or illegal purposes, ever taken Methadone.  Since two tests were showing the positive results, she compromised with me and was going to send the samples for full lab screening and give me a prescription for enough Suboxone for the two week period.

Fast forward to the two week appointment… I wasn’t worried about the lab results because, as I said, I knew I’d not taken anything.  However, between the two appointments, I researched the issue, even contacted a doctor from UCLA who had written a few articles about a lot of drug screens coming up with false positives because of other, non-restricted medications.  In my case, Benadryl (aka diphenhydramine) can cause false-positives for methadone.  Apparently the fact that when I use Benadryl, I take a high dose seems to make the possibility more likely.

So I go into my appointment to get the verification when my Suboxone doctor tells me she has good and bad news.  Good news is that the drug screen they just did on me came up  normal as she expected.  Bad news is that the drug screen that was supposed to be sent off for lab review somehow spilled in the bag and they were unable to process the analysis.  Again… this is the type of crazy BS that I have happen to me on a regular basis!  I tell my kids regularly that I really could be the poster child for Murphy’s Law…  If anything can go wrong, it will!

I have little doubt that I am the only person on a medication such as Suboxone to encounter anything like this.  Anytime something happens that contradicts what you know to be fact, look into it!  This was the second time this happened to me.  The first false positive was at my 1st appointment with my current Suboxone doctor.  The really crazy part was that after it happened the first time, I didn’t find A LOT of information about the false positives, but a little more than a year later, I found articles, papers,research galore!  When it comes down to it, these initial urine screen tests are little cheap, $5 tests.  They’re simply a quick way to check things.  Anytime one of them comes up unusual, ask for lab analysis.  And be patient while the doctor works with you… remember regardless of degrees… they’re still human and allowed to have questions and doubts of their own.

Author:

I am a 40 year old, divorced mother of two teenage daughters (thanks for the sympathy!!), plus two dogs who believe they're kids, too. The five of us live south of Atlanta, Ga. If you would like to know anything else, feel free to ask!

Leave a Reply

